Region of Central Macedonia

    Region of Central Macedonia (RCM) is the largest region in Greece and its capital, Thessaloniki, is the second largest city in Greece in terms of population. The region has a population of 1,875,000 inhabitants, representing 17 percent of the country’s population and produces 17 percent of the GDP (second higher contribution after 37,7% of the region of Attica).

    In administrative terms the Region of Central Macedonia is a public authority at the second degree of local government, operating at regional level. It is comprised of seven regional units (former “prefectures”): Imathia, Thessaloniki, Pella, Kilkis, Pieria, Serres and Chalkidiki. Its regional administration is structured at central and regional level. According to its structure all the relative Regional Units organizationally belong to the central administration which is seated in Thessaloniki.

    Regions according to the Law 3852/2010 “New Architecture of the Self-Government and Decentralized Administration – Kallikratis Programme” design plan and implement policies at regional level in the context of their jurisdiction, according to the principles of sustainable development and social inclusion of the country and in line with national and European policies.

    The region has an important geopolitical metropolitan role as a gate and services hub for Eastern European countries. The most important services sectors in the region are agrofood, tourism, transport and communications and recreation activities.

    The existing institutions such as Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Greek International Business Association, Centre for Research and Technology, Aristotle University, Technology Park and Alexandria Innovation Zone, plus the role of the Region represent some of the main triple helix actors related to the innovation policy.



    Copyright 2018

    Please publish modules in offcanvas position.